Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR)
European section of United Cities and Local Governments

Home / News / In-depth news / Integration
next > < previous

Integration - 07.10.2005

European Cities for Development and Cooperation: European integration from the local level
A group of municipalities have joined forces to promote European integration: European Cities for Development and Co-operation (ECDC) is a network based on the principle that, as the governance level closest to the citizen, municipalities are best placed to promote European integration. The main way to achieve this objective is to share best practice by organising events and being involved in European projects.
ECDC was founded in March 2005 in Terrassa (Spain). Its members include Charleroi (Belgium), Toulouse (France), Vantaa (Finland), Essen (Germany), Miskolc (Hungary), Prato (Italy), Bielsko-Biala, Gliwice (Poland), Gijón, Terrassa (Spain), érebro and Uppsala (Sweden).
ECDC's next yearly meeting will take place in Charleroi, in May 2006. The meeting will focus on issues related to European co-operation and mid-cities networks.
For more information contact Mr. Joan Chicón at Terrassa City Council, Galileu Street 236; 08224 Terrassa, or via e-mail:
Développez vos ventes : conseil marketing Organisation - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation référencement sur Google de site Internet - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation Référencement naturel sur Google, SEO