Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR)
European section of United Cities and Local Governments

Home / News / Press releases / CEMR
next > < previous

Governance and citizenship

CEMR - 20.04.2007

Michael Häupl winner of the 2007 Emperor Maximilian prize
The 2007 European prize for local and regional politics has been awarded to Michael Haupl, mayor and governor of Vienna, President of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR).

The Emperor Maximilian prize is awarded by the province of Tyrol and the city of Innsbruck to those who have contributed to the reinforcement of local and regional government in Europe. It specifically rewards contributions to the implementation of the principle of subsidiarity and of the content of the Council of Europe's charters of local and regional self-government.
I am honoured to have been chosen to receive the Maximilian Prize, said Michael Häupl. As president of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions, I have endeavoured to strengthen the local and regional dimension in Europe, and this in various ways, including influencing EU legislation on behalf of its local and regional governments. Some 70% of EU legislation is implemented at local and regional level, it is therefore of the utmost importance that this legislation, when it lands on our desks as mayors and presidents of regions, is suited to our needs. We have to implement it, so it is only fair to have our say in the way the law-making .
Michael Häupl also stessed the need to bring Europe closer to its citizens. As CEMR president, I have also campaigned for a Europe that is closer to its citizens and that listens more to its municipalities and regions. This is why I urge Europe's leaders that the gains for regional and local government achieved in the European Constitution be maintained in the future.

The governor of the Austrian province of Tyrol, Hedwig van Staa, will give Michael Häupl his award at a ceremony in Innsbruck, on 08 May 2007. The award presentation will be combined with the activities on the occasion of the Europe Day on 9th May. The prize will consists of a certificate, a medal and a cash prize of 10 000 euros. Graham Meadows, former Director General to the European Commission's DG Regional Policy, has also been rewarded with the prize.
Previous winners of the prize are:
  • 1999: Josef Hofmann, Honorary President of the CEMR;
  • 2000: Luc van den Brande, President of the Assembly of the European Regions;
  • 2001: Lady Farrington, Baroness of Ribbleton;
  • 2002: Erwin Teufel, Minister-President of Baden-Württemberg and Heinrich Hoffschulte, First Vice-President of the CEMR;
  • 2003: Alain Chénard, former President of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities;
  • 2004: Elisabeth Gateau, Secretary-General of the United Cities and Local Governments;
  • 2005: Jan Olbrycht, Member of the European Parliament;
  • 2006: Prize not awarded
Développez vos ventes : conseil marketing Organisation - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation référencement sur Google de site Internet - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation Référencement naturel sur Google, SEO