Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR)
European section of United Cities and Local Governments

Home / Members / Members map / Slovenia


Slovenia is a unitary state composed of municipalities (občine) and urban municipalities (mestne občine).
Local level: 212 municipalities (občin)
The municipal council (občinski svet) is the municipality's deliberative body and is composed of members elected by direct universal suffrage for a four year-term. Deputy-mayors are appointed by the mayor from among council members. The council is responsible for making the municipality's main decisions, such as adopting local regulations, land and development plans and the municipal budget as well as deciding on the acquisition or selling of municipal property.

The mayor (župan) constitutes the municipality's executive body and is elected by direct universal suffrage for a mandate of four years. He/she represents the municipality and is at the head of the local administration.

Slovenian municipalities are divided into local, village or neighbourhood communities, (krajevne, vaške or četrtne skupnosti), where each has a council whose members are elected by direct universal suffrage. These councils have the power to propose decisions relating to the local community to the municipal council and other powers in accordance with local regulations.

The capital city of Slovenia, Ljubljana, and ten other municipalities have the status of urban municipality (mestna občina). A municipality can acquire the status of urban municipality if it has a minimum of 20,000 inhabitants and 15,000 jobs. Urban municipalities have more competences than the other municipalities, including responsibility for urban development, urban transport, housing, education, environment, public services, culture, sports and recreation.

  • Public safety and protection
  • Housing
  • Land development
  • Urban planning
  • Trade and industry
  • Environment
  • Local roads network
  • Transport
  • Pre-school and primary education
  • Social security
  • Water treatment and waste collection

CEMR in Slovenia

Association of Municipalities and Towns of Slovenia
Secretary General: Jasmina VIDMAR
Skupnost Občin Slovenije
Partizanska 1, 2000 Maribor
Tel.: +386 2 234 1500
Fax: +386 2 234 1503
​Association of Urban Municipalities of Slovenia
Secretary General: Miloš SENČUR 
Združenje Mestnih Občin Slovenije 
Mestni trg 1 – 1000 Ljubljana 
Mailing address: Verdijeva ulica 10, SI-6000 Koper
Tel.: +386-5-664 62 31 
Fax: +386-5-627 16 02
Développez vos ventes : conseil marketing Organisation - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation référencement sur Google de site Internet - Audit, conseil, coaching, formation Référencement naturel sur Google, SEO